contact us at 407-334-4949 or

John Lux Elected Film Florida Treasurer

John Lux Elected Film Florida Treasurer

IDEAS COO John Lux has been named Treasurer of film and entertainment not-for-profit Film Florida. Michelle Hillery, the Deputy Film Commissioner for the Palm Beach County Film and Television Commission (FTC), has been named President of Film Florida. It was announced at the annual Film Florida meeting at the Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables, FL on June 3.

“It is a great honor to be named as the next President of Film Florida,” commented Michelle Hillery. “I am hugely excited by the opportunities that lie ahead and look forward to working with the incoming leadership such as Sen. Andy Gardiner and Rep. Steve Crisafulli in the Florida Senate and House on creating more jobs for Floridians.”

“The entertainment industry is a personal passion of mine and I’m honored to have been voted to the Film Florida Executive Board,” John Lux said. “IDEAS has a long history in the entertainment industry and I’m thankful they are supporting me in this additional role. I look forward to doing my small part in helping the entertainment industry grow in Florida.”

Film Florida is a not-for–profit association that provides a leadership role in Florida’s film and entertainment industries. In short, our members include a who’s who in the Sunshine State’s film and entertainment industry – whether making things happen at a local film commission, representing a labor organization, educating tomorrow’s industry leaders, laboring behind the camera, providing equipment or working behind the scenes as the glue that keeps a project together. Film Florida’s mission is to offer businesses and individuals the benefits of a statewide trade association to promote the creation of jobs in the film and entertainment production industries and to promote economic development and tourism.

The other Executive Board officers elected are:

1st Vice President – Judson C. French, Jr., Florida State University College of Motion Picture Arts (Education Council)
2nd Vice President – Kelly Paige, Level Talent Agency (Industry Council)
Secretary – Herta Suarez, SAG-AFTRA (Labor Council)
Treasurer – John Lux, IDEAS (Industry Council)
At Large – Sheena Fowler, Women in Film and Television – Florida (Associations Council)
Immediate Past President – Leah Sokolowsky, Teamsters Local 769 (Labor Council)

Additional board members include the Film Commission Council: Dale Gordon, Tampa/Hillsborough County Film & Digital Media Commission – Chair; Jeanne Corcoran, Sarasota County Film & Entertainment Office – Vice Chair; Bonnie King, Space Coast Film Commission – Secretary; and Alternates: Debbie Miehls, Bradenton Area Film Commission; and Jerry Jones, Charlotte Harbor Florida Film Office.

The Association Council elected Richard Seres, AICP Florida – Chair; and Thomas Mitchell, FMPTA – Vice-Chair.

The Education Council elected Lucia Fishburne, Florida State University College of Communication & Information – Chair; David Jaffe, Lynn University – Vice Chair; and Ralph Clemente, Valencia College – Secretary.

The Industry Council elected Dawson Peden, Cineverse Miami – Chair; and James Stamatis, Telemundo – Vice-Chair.

Herta Suarez, SAG–AFTRA; and Leah Sokolowsky, representing Teamsters Local 769 will continue to represent Labor Council on the Film Florida Executive Board as Secretary and Immediate Past President respectively.

Avatar photo
As COO of IDEAS, John manages the day-to-day operations of the company. He is a category expert in studio production and is responsible for bringing advanced digital media technology to IDEAS.